University Library

Library Databases for Alumni

University of Melbourne alumni who have taken advantage of this new benefit and purchased alumni database access may access the electronic journals listed below. Please carefully read the conditions of access to ensure you have a thorough understanding of your membership to this service.

Please note that not all journals make all content available in fulltext online.  Should you have any queries about journals and content availability for alumni, please contact Ms Sabina Robertson on +61 3 8344 5717.

Conditions of access: these resources are strictly available to the registered alumni library member for private educational purposes only. Your password is not transferable. The library reserves the right to withdraw usage privileges if these conditions are not met. These resources will be available from most internet enabled computers, however the library cannot guarantee this in all circumstances due to security settings outside of our control.

Note: Alumni can only access databases via the links on this page.

You will need to log in with your Alumni Web Community username and password to access databases via the links below.

Use of electronic resources is subject to terms and conditions. Systematic & excessive downloading of content is not permitted.

Available Databases

Academic Search (Alumni Edition)
Multidisciplinary journals
Find out more......
Project Muse
Humanities journals
Find out more.....
AusLit
Australian Literature resources
Find out more.....
Proquest Education Complete
Education and humanities journals
Find out more.....
Business Source (Alumni Edition)
Business and economics journals
Find out more......
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection
Multidisciplinary journals
Find out more.....
Expanded Academic
Multidisciplinary journals, magazines and newspapers
Find out more.....
Scopus
Abstracting and indexing database of scientific, technical, medical and social science literature
Find out more.....
Medieval Travel Writing
Medieval manuscripts
Find out more.....
Source OECD
OECD books, periodicals and statistical databases
Find out more.....

 

Further Information

Science Direct
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.
In addition, the Backfiles program offers the ability to search a historical archive of over 6.75 million articles directly from your desktop, back to Volume 1, Issue 1. The collections contain four million articles prior to 1995, and 2.75 million articles from after 1994.
 
Scopus
Scopus is a comprehensive scientific, medical, technical and social science database containing all relevant literature. It covers:15,000 peer-reviewed journals from more than 4,000 international publishers.
 
Austlit - the Australian Literature Resource
AustLit is a collaboration between eight Australian universities and the National Library of Australia providing authoritative information on hundreds of thousands of creative and critical Australian literature works relating to more than 75,000 Australian authors and literary organisations. Its coverage spans 1780 to the present day. AustLit indexes and describes Australian literature published in a range of print and electronic information sources. It also makes available selected critical articles and creative writing in full text.
Proquest Education Complete

ProQuest® Education Journals gives users access to over 760 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text.

Offering complete information on hundreds of educational topics, this database offers complete text and images from journals such as:

  • Childhood Education
  • College Teaching
  • Harvard Educational Review
  • Journal of Athletic Training
  • Educational Theory

Image articles include all the charts, tables, diagrams, and other graphical elements often used to enhance the editorial value of articles that focus on education topics.

ProQuest Education Journals covers not only the literature on primary, secondary, and higher education but also special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.

SourceOECD
This database comprises books, periodicals, and statistical databases issued by OECD. It covers many themes: agriculture and food; education and skills; emerging economics; employment; energy; enterprise, industry and trade; environment and sustainable development; finance and investment; general economics and future studies; goverance; international development; nuclear energy; science and information technology; social issues and migration; statistics sources and methods; taxation; territorial economy; transition economics; transport; etc. Users can build their own tables and export them to Excel and other formats.
  • Data format: Database of electronic books, journals and databases; full text available in HTML and PDF formats. Data available in Excel, Beyond 20/20 or .csv formats.
  • Date coverage: 1998 to present for full-text books and journals ; 1960 to present for databases (varies by database)

Academic Search Alumni Edition
Academic Search Alumni Edition is designed for the research needs of the post-college professional. The database provides full text for more than 3,190 journals as well as indexing and abstracting for more than 8,000 journals. The database offers information in nearly every area of academic study including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology, and more. Academic Search Alumni Edition also includes valuable peer-reviewed full text journals, offering critical information from many sources.
Business Source Alumni Edition
Business Source Alumni Edition is designed for the research needs of the post-college professional. The database provides more than 1,540 full text business magazines and journals, of which 770 are peer-reviewed. This database includes publications in nearly every area of business including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, econometrics, economics and more. Business Source Alumni Edition includes full text sources ranging from general periodicals to trade publications and top management journals. Additional full text sources include country economic reports, industry reports, market research reports, company profiles and more.
Expanded Academic ASAP (Gale)
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
Project Muse
Project MUSE was launched in 1995 by the Johns Hopkins University Press, to offer the full text of JHUP scholarly journals via the world wide web. In 1999, MUSE published online 46 JHUP titles in the humanities, social sciences.
Medieval Travel Writing
This collection presents manuscripts of some works of European travel writing from the later medieval period. The core of the material is a collection of medieval manuscripts from libraries around the world and dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The collection includes accounts of journeys to central Asia and the Far East, including accounts of travel to Mongolia, Persia, India, China, South-East Asia and the Holy Land.
 
 
top of page