Music Databases and Indexes
Music Databases | Related Databases | Indexes to Printed Music | Historical Indexes | Citation Indexes
Databases or indexes are the best way of identifying relevant journal articles and other useful materials and many are available full-text online. You are advised to use SuperSearch as the comprehensive gateway to resources and the sub-categories Musicology, Ethnomusicology, Music Education, Music Therapy, Music in Australia are recommended. More about SuperSearch, from Researching Music tutorial, Faculty of Music, University of Melbourne.
If you already have a citation or know which articles you want, use the Music Journals A-Z list or Citation Linker tool.
Music Databases
Oxford Music - Grove Music Online - Encyclopedia. Quick Start Help & Guide
JSTOR (EZP) Index with Full Text. Guide
Music Index Online 1974- (EBSCO) Index with selective fulltext. Guide
Music Education Resource Base - Index.
RILM Abstracts (CSA), 1967- Index with selective fulltext. Guide
RIPM Online, 1800-1950 - Index. Guide
Index to the Australian Musical News 1911-1963 / Lina Marsi.
![]()
Music Australia
Canadian Music Periodical Index (National Library of Canada) - Index.
CAIRSS for Music - Index. Guide
A Comparison of Five Music Periodical Indexes by Jamie Teot, Music 500 Midterm Exam Essay.
Related & Popular Databases
Google Scholar Search - Use Advanced Scholar Search for best results.
Search books, journals and other materials from academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives.
Set Scholar Preferences to displaylinks to University of Melbourne holdings and subscriptions.
- From welcome screen, choose Scholar Preferences
- Library Links enter MELBOURNE in Find library box.
- Check box - SourceIt @ Melbourne
- Click Save Preferences
Google Advanced Book Search - Using Google Book Search
Search the full text of books to discover those that are most useful to you. From your results, you'll be able to see everything from a few short excerpts to the entire book. Alternatively, for each book,- use the Borrow this book "Find this book in a library" link.
- Choose "Get this item" to display a list of Australian libraries where the book can be borrowed, or,
- use the University Library catalogue for local holdings.Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Blackwell Synergy
British Humanities Index, 1962-
Current Contents Connect
Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection (CSA)
Educational Research Abstracts (Taylor & Francis)
Emerald Fulltext (Emerald)
ERIC (CSA)
Expanded Academic ASAP 1980-
Film Index International Online (Proquest)
Google Scholar
Historical Abstracts (ABC-CLIO)
ingentaconnect.com (Ingenta)
International Medieval Bibliography (Brepols)
Oxford Journals
Project Muse
PsycINFO (CSA)
Psychology + Behavior (EBSCO)
SpringerLink (MetaPress)
Indexes to Printed Music and manuscripts
Index to Printed Music : Collections & Series - Guide
An online index for finding music scores printed in standard scholarly editions, historical collections and series. Each individual work in a collection is indexed, allowing retrieval by composer, title, collection as well as by specific performing forces.
Index to Renaissance Vocal Music in Collections - Compiled by Carol Ohlers, Scott Library, York University, Toronto, Ontario.
This index is limited to sacred and secular vocal music. Volumes in indexed collections that contain only instrumental music have been excluded as well as instrumental selections in indexed volumes
[Print] Collected editions, historical series & sets & monuments of music
[Print] Historical sets, collected editions, and monuments of music : a guide...
RISM Online
International Inventory of Musical Sources (RISM) aims to comprehensively document the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory and libretti stored in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections.
Historical Indexes
JSTOR (EZP) Index with Full Text. - Guide
RIPM Online, 1800-1950 - Index. Guide
[Print] Analyses of nineteenth- and twentieth-century music, 1940-1985
[Print] The history of music : an index to the literature available ...
[Print] Music criticism : an annotated guide to the literature.
[Print] Music Index, 1949-
Citation Indexes
A citation index lets you find out where and by whom a paper has been cited.
Web of Science (ISI)
Includes the following citaiton indexes:
* Science Citation Index Expanded®,
* Social Sciences Citation Index®,
* Arts & Humanities Citation Index®. - Guide to Citation Databases