Citation Style and Writing Guides in Music
Citing your sources | Bibliography Management & Software | Grammar & Writing Guides | Useful Links
Citing your sources
Whether you paraphrase, directly quote from a source or just use it as background reading, you need to acknowledge or 'cite' that source in your bibliography or reference list. It is standard practice to compile a full bibliography of sources consulted during the research process. It is also important that you are aware of the University Policy on Academic Honesty.
There are number of citation styles so check with your supervisor on the preferred style before writing and submitting your work. For most music subjects in the School of Music, the following style guide and online tutorial are recommended :
- The Chicago Manual of Style. 16th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010.
- OR The Chicago Manual of Style. 15th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007.
- The Chicago manual of style online / 16th ed.
[Chicago] : University of Chicago, c2010.
Look for the author-date style; in particular section 15.
For numerous specific examples, see chapters 14 and 15.Also available in print The Chicago manual of style / 15th ed.
- Documentation, from 'Researching Music' tutorial, School of Music, University of Melbourne.
A detailed online tutorial full of tips and examples. Includes a sample essay and a sample bibliography.
Other useful websites:
-
Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide - from The Chicago Manual of Style Online / 16th ed.
See clear examples of how to use Chicago-style citation. In the examples, follow the author-date style (an in-text citation [T], followed by a reference-list entry [R])
- Chicago Citation Style / 15th ed. from University of Melbourne.
This is an introduction to the Chicago Style using examples from the field of Cinema Studies. This system is an author-date method. In these examples footnotes and footnote numbers are not described. Includes animated presentation and examples.
Software to manage your research notes and bibliography
Reference management software can help you manage and document your sources, accurately and easily. EndNote is recommended and freely available to you.
- EndNote X3: an introduction
An introduction to EndNote X3 for Windows. How to create a Library and use Word to cite references and create a bibliography. How to get the items for your references.
- Video tutorials on the EndNote website.
- Using EndNote at The University of Melbourne
Includes : Getting started ; Using EndNote ; Resources for EndNote ; Help!
Other Bibliography Management Tools :
- RefWorks@University of Melbourne
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management program that allows users to create a personal database of references and citations and to share these with colleagues. It can be used in conjunction with Microsoft Word on Windows and Mac to insert these references into documents and generate bibliographies. A number of standard referencing formats are available.
Grammar and Writing Guides
General
- UniM Music 808.06678 BELL
Bellman, Jonathan, 1957-
A short guide to writing about music.
New York, N.Y. ; Harlow : Longman, c2000.
- UniM Music 808.06678 WING
Wingell, Richard J., 1936-
Writing about music : an introductory guide. 3rd. ed.
Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2002.
- UniM Music 808.06678
How to write about music : the RILM manual of style / James R. Cowdery, editor ; foreword by Carl A. Skoggard ; introduction by Barbara Dobbs Mackenzie / 2nd ed.
New York : Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, 2006.
Annotated Bibliographies
- Annotated Bibliographies - The OWL at Purdue
- Annotated Bibliographies - University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
- Annotated Bibliographies - Academic Skills Unit, University of Melbourne
- Annotated Bibliographies - The Writing Centre, University of Wisconsin - Madison
- How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography - Cornell University
Concert Program Notes
- A Guide to Writing Concert Program Notes (2004), by Warren Bebbington, Faculty of Music, University of Melbourne.
- UniM Music 809.93357 WRIT
Holoman, D. Kern
Writing about music : a style sheet from the editors of 19th-century music.
Berkeley : University of California Press, c1988.
- Robertson, Patricia. "Producing Accuarate Recital Program Copy: An Annotated Style Sheet." Journal of Singing 62, no.1 (2005): 19-25. (for vocalists)
- Keller, James M. "Program Notes". Chamber Music v.17 no.4, (Aug. 2000): 36-41, 57.
- UT Analysis Index
"The Analysis Index provides access to program notes and descriptions or analyses of musical compositions in books owned by the UT Music Library."
Useful Links
- Researching Music tutorial, School of Music, University of Melbourne.
- Easy Writer Site : Chicago Style - Use the L.H menu to navigate examples.
- Duke - Assembling a List of Works Cited
- Bowdoin College writing guide
- Chicago Manual of Style - Purdue University Online Writing Lab
- History - Chicago documentation style , from Bedford/St.Martin's.
Includes online examples and notes, plus samples papers. - Interpreting Citations Tutorial - Thomas Jefferson Library, University of Missouri, St. Louis.
- Academic Skills Unit, University of Melbourne.