Ethnomusicology Citation Style and Writing Guides
Citing your sources ! Bibliography Management & Software ! Grammar & Writing Guides ! Useful Links
Citing your sources
Whether you paraphrase, directly quote from a source or just use it as background reading, you need to acknowledge or 'cite' that source in your bibliography or reference list. It is standard practice to compile a full bibliography of sources consulted during the research process. It is also important that you are aware of the University Policy on Academic Honesty.
There are number of citation styles so check with your supervisor on the preferred style before writing and submitting your work. For most music subjects in the School of Music, the following style guide and online tutorial are recommended :
- The Chicago Manual of Style. 16th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2010.
- OR The Chicago Manual of Style. 15th ed. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2007.
- The Chicago manual of style online / 16th ed.
[Chicago] : University of Chicago, c2010.
Look for the author-date style; in particular section 15.
For numerous specific examples, see chapters 14 and 15.Chapter 15: Documentation II: Author-Date References includes:
Overview
15.1 The scope of this chapter
15.2 Uniform treatment in author-date references and notes and bibliography
15.3 Notes and bibliography entries as models for author-date references
15.4 Considerations for electronic sourcesAuthor-Date References: Basic Format, with Examples and Variations
15.5 The author-date system - overview
15.6 Basic structure of a reference list entry
15.7 Basic structure of an in-text citation
15.8 Page numbers and other locators
15.9 Author-date references - examples and variationsReference Lists and Text Citations
Reference Lists
15.10 Function and placement of reference lists
15.11 Alphabetical arrangement of reference list entries
15.12 Authors' names in reference list entries
15.13 Titles in reference list entries
15.14 Placement of dates in reference list entries
15.15 Abbreviations in reference list entries
15.16 Single author versus several authors - reference list orderThe 3-Em Dash for Repeated Names in a Reference List
15.17 Chronological order for repeated names in a reference list
15.18 The 3-em dash with edited, translated, or compiled works
15.19 Reference list entries with same author(s), same yearText Citations
15.20 Agreement of text citation and reference list entry
15.21 Text citations - basic form
15.22 Page and volume numbers or other specific locators in text citations
15.23 Additional material in text citations
15.24 Text citations in relation to surrounding text and punctuation
15.25 Text citations in relation to direct quotations
15.26 Several references to the same source
15.27 Syntactic considerations with text citations
15.28 Text citations of works with more than three authors
15.29 Multiple text references
15.30 Author-date system with notesAuthor-Date References: Special Cases
15.31 Items not necessarily covered in chapter 14
Books
Author's Name
15.32 Anonymous works - unknown authorship
15.33 Anonymous works - known authorship
15.34 Pseudonyms in author-date references
15.35 Editor in place of author in text citations
15.36 Organization as author in author-date referencesTitle
15.37 Cross-references to other titles in reference lists
Edition, Volume, or Collection
15.38 Reprint editions and modern editions—more than one date
15.39 Multivolume works published over more than one year
15.40 Letters in published collectionsFacts of Publication
15.41 "No date" in author-date references
15.42 "Forthcoming" in author-date referencesPeriodicals
15.43 Publications preferring initials for authors' names
15.44 Publications preferring abbreviations for journal titles
15.45 Publications preferring sentence-style capitalization for titles
15.46 Parentheses with issue number
15.47 Newspapers and magazines in reference listsUnpublished and Informally Published Material
15.48 Unpublished interviews and personal communications
15.49 Manuscript collections in the author-date style
15.50 Patents or other documents cited by more than one date
15.51 Access dates with website contentCitations Taken from Secondary Sources
15.52 "Quoted in" in author-date references
Audiovisual Materials
15.53 Citing audiovisual materials in author-date format
"Chicago recommends a more comprehensive approach to dating audiovisual materials than in previous editions of the manual (see 14.274, 14.276). Though citations in the author-date system have therefore become somewhat easier to format, it is often more appropriate to list such materials in running text and group them in a separate section or discography; see 14.275. Older sources are more likely to have been consulted in the form of a digital copy; though authors should cite the format consulted, it is generally useful to give information about the original source, if available. Moreover, the date of the original recording should be privileged in the citation. Whom to list as "author" depends on the focus of the citation and is a matter of authorial discretion.
For example:
Coolidge, Calvin. [1920?] "Equal Rights" (speech). Copy of 78 rpm disc in RealAudio and WAV formats from the Library of Congress, "American Leaders Speak: Recordings from World War I and the 1920 Election, 1918-1920."
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/nfhtml/nforSpeakers01.html.Holiday, Billie. 1958. "I'm a Fool to Want You" (vocal performance). By Joel Herron, Frank Sinatra, and Jack Wolf.
Recorded February 20, with Ray Ellis. On Lady in Satin, Columbia CL 1157, 33 1/3 rpm.Pink Floyd. 1970. Atom Heart Mother. Capitol CDP 7 46381 2, 1990, compact disc.
Weingartner, Felix von (conductor). 1936. 150 Jahre Wiener Philharmoniker. Preiser Records, PR90113 (mono), 1992, compact disc. Includes Beethoven's Symphony no. 3 in E-flat Major and Symphony no. 8 in F Major.
(Coolidge [1920?])
(Holiday 1958)
(Pink Floyd 1970)
(Weingartner 1936)
- Documentation, from 'Researching Music' tutorial, School of Music, University of Melbourne.
A detailed online tutorial full of tips and examples. Includes a sample essay and a sample bibliography.
Other useful websites:
-
Chicago-Style Citation Quick Guide - from The Chicago Manual of Style Online / 16th ed.
See clear examples of how to use Chicago-style citation. In the examples, follow the author-date style (an in-text citation [T], followed by a reference-list entry [R])
- Chicago Citation Style / 15th ed. from University of Melbourne.
This is an introduction to the Chicago Style using examples from the field of Cinema Studies. This system is an author-date method. In these examples footnotes and footnote numbers are not described. Includes animated presentation and examples.
Bibliography Management and Software
Reference management software can help you manage and document your sources, accurately and easily. EndNote is recommended and freely available to you.
- EndNote X3: an introduction
An introduction to EndNote X3 for Windows. How to create a Library and use Word to cite references and create a bibliography. How to get the items for your references.
- Video tutorials on the EndNote website.
- Using EndNote at The University of Melbourne
Includes : Getting started ; Using EndNote ; Resources for EndNote ; Help!
Other Bibliography Management Tools :
- RefWorks@University of Melbourne
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management program that allows users to create a personal database of references and citations and to share these with colleagues. It can be used in conjunction with Microsoft Word on Windows and Mac to insert these references into documents and generate bibliographies. A number of standard referencing formats are available.
Grammar and Writing Guides
General
- Turabian, Kate L.
A manual for writers of research papers, theses, and dissertations : Chicago style for students and researchers / Kate L. Turabian ; revised by Wayne C. Booth ... [et al.].
Chicago : The University of Chicago Press, 2007.
- Wingell, Richard J., 1936- UniM Music 808.06678 WING
Writing about music : an introductory guide. 3rd. ed.
Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2002.
Useful Links
- Researching Music tutorial, School of Music, University of Melbourne.
- Easy Writer Site : Chicago Style - Use the L.H menu to navigate examples.
- Duke - Assembling a List of Works Cited
- OWL at Purdue - Chicago
- Bowdoin College writing guide
- Carleton Writing guide
- Interpreting Citations Tutorial - Thomas Jefferson Library, University of Missouri, St. Louis.
- Chicago : Style Manual & College Writing Guides - California State University
- Academic Skills Unit, University of Melbourne.