Music Education Citation Style and Writing Guides
Citing your sources | Bibliography Management & Software | Grammar & Writing Guides | Useful Websites
Citing your sources
Whether you paraphrase, directly quote from a source or just use it as background reading, you need to acknowledge or 'cite' that source in your bibliography or reference list. It is standard practice to compile a full bibliography of sources consulted during the research process. It is also important that you are aware of the University Policy on Academic Honesty. During the research process remember to:
- Maintain complete records of all the sources to which you refer.
- Note the name of the author (or authors), title and publication details (and page numbers if quoting).
- The documentation of electronic resources can be especially challenging. Among other details, it is important to note the URL and the date that you accessed the page or site.
There are number of citation styles so check with your supervisor on the preferred style before writing and submitting your work.
Commonly used style guide in Music Education is :
- Publication
manual of the American Psychological Association / 6th ed.
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2010.
Bibliography Management and Software
Reference management software can help you manage and document your sources, accurately and easily. EndNote is recommended and freely available to you.
- EndNote X3: an introduction
An introduction to EndNote X3 for Windows. How to create a Library and use Word to cite references and create a bibliography. How to get the items for your references.
- Video tutorials on the EndNote website.
- Using EndNote at The University of Melbourne
Includes : Getting started ; Using EndNote ; Resources for EndNote ; Help!
Other Bibliography Management Tools :
- RefWorks@University of Melbourne
RefWorks is a web-based bibliographic management program that allows users to create a personal database of references and citations and to share these with colleagues. It can be used in conjunction with Microsoft Word on Windows and Mac to insert these references into documents and generate bibliographies. A number of standard referencing formats are available.
- bibme - Bibliography Maker.
"...the quickest way to build a bibliography on the web. A fully automatic bibliography maker that auto-fills. It's the quickest way to build a works cited page. And it's free."
Grammar and Writing Guides
General
- Bellman, Jonathan, 1957- UniM Music 808.06678 BELL
A short guide to writing about music.
New York, N.Y. ; Harlow : Longman, c2000.
- Wingell, Richard J., 1936- UniM Music 808.06678 WING
Writing about music : an introductory guide. 3rd. ed.
Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2002.
- Concise rules of APA style.
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2005.
"Concise Rules of APA Style is your authoritative guide, in a convenient, portable format, on how best to present the ideas and data you've worked so hard to gather. This look-up reference presents specific, key chapters from the best-selling Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association / 5th ed. that offer you quick access to the essentials of APA Style."--BOOK JACKET.
- APA Style Guide to Electronic References (PDF) - Restricted Access: University of Melbourne Staff and Students Only
"This online (PDF) guide is a revised and updated version of section 4.16 of the 5th ed. of the Publication Manual. The guide is expanded and updated from the Electronic Resources section of the 5th Edition of the Publication Manual, this comprehensive yet succinct style guide in PDF format offers up-to-date information on formatting electronic references in APA style. With more than 40 example references, the APA Style Guide to Electronic References outlines for students and writers the key elements to include in references to electronic sources, with numerous examples. Among the new examples are dissertations and theses; bibliographies; curriculum and course material; reference materials, including Wiki; gray literature, such as conference hearings, presentation slides, and policy briefs; general interest media and alternative presses such as audio podcasts; and online communities, such as Weblog posts and video Weblog posts."
Annotated Bibliographies
- Annotated Bibliographies - The OWL at Purdue
- Annotated Bibliographies - University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
- Annotated Bibliographies - Academic Skills Unit, University of Melbourne
- Annotated Bibliographies - The Writing Centre, University of Wisconsin - Madison
- How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography - Cornell University
Concert Program Notes
- A Guide to Writing Concert Program Notes (2004), by Warren Bebbington, Faculty of Music, University of Melbourne.
- UniM Music 809.93357 WRIT
Holoman, D. Kern
Writing about music : a style sheet from the editors of 19th-century music.
Berkeley : University of California Press, c1988.
- Robertson, Patricia. "Producing Accuarate Recital Program Copy: An Annotated Style Sheet." Journal of Singing 62, no.1 (2005): 19-25. (for vocalists)
- Keller, James M. "Program Notes". Chamber Music v.17 no.4, (Aug. 2000): 36-41, 57.
- UT Analysis Index
"The Analysis Index provides access to program notes and descriptions or analyses of musical compositions in books owned by the UT Music Library."
Useful Websites
- APA Research Style Crib Sheet (PDF), by Dr. Abel Scribe PhD - December 2006
See especially, the left-hand menu for offerings and navigiation.
- APAStyle.org
Lists commonly asked questions regarding how to cite electronic media.
- APA Style: The Social Sciences
, from dianahacker.com.
Includes online examples and notes, plus example of complete research paper.
- Citation & Style Guides - Concordia University
- Citing Your Sources - Research Tutorial, Eastern Washington University.
- Interpreting Citations Tutorial - Thomas Jefferson Library, University of Missouri, St. Louis.
- Referencing - Free Pamphlets to Download - Academic Skills Unit, University of Melbourne.
- Style Manual & College Writing Guides - California state University
- Useful Links & Resources for Writing , Resources & Links (Learning Skills Unit)