Finding articles and other materials
Databases & Indexes | Journal locators | Journal Literature
Music Databases and Indexes
Databases and Indexes are the best way of identifying relevant journal articles and other useful materials.
You are advised to use SuperSearch as the comprehensive gateway to e-resources.-
MetaSearch tab.
Use the drop down in the left hand menu to choose the 'Subjects' option; then choose Music. Choose from the list of sub-categories : -
Find database tab.
Use this option if you know which database you want to use by name (eg. Expanded Academic). - Google Scholar Search @ unimelb
Search books, journals and other materials from academic publishers, professional societies and pre-print archives. For eligible users, this configuration will access
links to University of Melbourne holdings and subscriptions. - Alternatively, use a selection of Databases and Indexes from our Collections list.
Journal Locators
Getting access to your journal titles - online or in print.
Music Journals A-Z, Louise Hanson-Dyer Music Library Journals Collection.
Includes access to both print and online journal titles.
SuperSearch, is the single access point for all e-journals and databases.
- Find E-journal tab. Use this option if you know which journal title you want to use. Browse the alphabetical list, or type the name of the journal you want.
- Select Brief View for displayed journals to see the date range for each e-journal.
- Use
to link directly to the article or catalogue holdings.
- Note that
links appear in many of your database search results.
SIAL : Serials in Australian Libraries
Lists the holdings of more than 450,000 periodical titles held in academic and state libraries around Australia.
Libraries Australia Search - Requires password. Get U of M password here!
Search more than 40 million items held in over 800 Australian libraries. You can search for any item and locate which library in Australia holds it. Search for books, journals, newspapers, theses, pictures, music, manuscripts, maps and more. Many online resources such as digitised images and full text publications can also be accessed immediately online. A guide Using the Collection - Music - Finding What You Want is available.
Interlibrary Loans & Document Delivery
If the University of Melbourne Library does not own a journal you need, document delivery may be an option. The Interlibrary Loans & Document Delivery service is available to staff and postgraduate students for the retrieval of any material not held by the University of Melbourne Libraries and required for purposes directly related to research at the University.
Journal Literature - Which journal titles are useful?
Many will be indexed in Music Index, RILM, JSTOR and RIPM. Refer also to bibliographies and reference lists of materials from your wider reading of the reseach topic. If a more systematic approach is required and you are looking for journal titles which specialise in a particular topic, location or area of study, the following directories can help to :
- 1. identify possible titles of newspapers and journals by location or timeline.
- 2. identify if they are indexed or available for you to browse online or in print.
Oxford Music Online - introductory article Periodicals
From the welcome page, choose "Tools & Resources" then "Research Resources" then choose Periodicals. This entry offers :
"A general account of music periodicals and their history, followed by a comprehensive list of music periodicals from 1722 to the present. The list is arranged by continent and country. This article also includes a link to specialised list of periodicals in The New Grove Dictionary of Opera."
Or, in print : The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians / 2nd. NewYork: Macmillan, 2001.
UniM Music REF 780.3 NEW v.28. pp.399-"Periodicals"
Look especially at Country lists, v.28 pp.340-479 & Title Index, v.28 pp.480-573
[Print] International Music Journals (See especially the introduction.)
(Historical guides to the world's periodicals and newspapers)
[Print] Music and Dance Periodicals : an international directory and guidebook.
[Print] Music Periodical Literature : an annotated Bibliography ...
[Print] Verzeichnis der Musikzeitschriften des 19. Jahrhundert.
This is a list of 19th century Music periodicals held in libraries around the world, including Australia. A useful union list for RIPM holdings.
Journal Citation Reports (ISI) - 2005-present.
Provides data to help with evaluation and comparison of scholarly journals.
UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory
"Ulrichsweb is the authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,000 periodicals of all types - academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters, and more from around the world."
For early Australian titles, see also:
Australian Periodical Publications 1840-1845 - at http://www.nla.gov.au/ferg/
A digital library of Australian journals that began publication between 1840-1845. The digitised titles have been made available on the Web as multipage PDF files. Alternatively, to see a list of titles, choose "Browse" from the L.H. navigation bar.
[Print] Literature in New South Wales.
[Print] Nineteenth century Australian periodicals : an annotated bibliography.
If you have a question about locating the information you need, contact us for expert assistance.