Finding Videos and Media Materials
Online Collections | Library Catalogue | Recordings Online | Other Collections | Finding Sound Recordings
Online Collections
- YouTube - many musical performances and other materials have been uploaded to this site - Bach, Cage, Sculthorpe, Riley, Westlake, Melba, etc. etc. Use the Search function to locate these gems.
- DigiTool : University of Melbourne Digital Repository
The Digital Repository provides a wide range of digital resources, from individual objects of a short term nature that are required for course delivery to large collections of objects that are of cultural or scholarly significance and need to be kept on a long term basis. Includes video recordings and audio resources, esp. MP3s of Australian Composers.
The University of Melbourne Library Collections
Use the Library Catalogue to search for videos and other media in ALL University of Melbourne Libraries including the Lousie Hanson-Dyer Music Library and the Victorian College of the Arts Library Collections.
When searching the library catalogue for videos and other formats use the following alternative methods:
- In one step - KEYWORD
search and LIMIT
your results
The KEYWORD search box allows you to search the catalogue using any major words including composer or author name AND words in the title of the work. Be aware that the titles of musical works can vary (even for the same work). If in doubt, use the composer name and significant word(s) in the title, i.e.
BIZET and CARMEN
Then use the "Material Type" drop-down to set the format LIMIT for your results
Select DVD/VIDEO/FILM from the "Material Type" drop-down menu. Click "Submit Search". - In two steps - KEYWORD
search to view results, then LIMIT
to required format.
Enter your search terms in the KEYWORD search box, then click "Submit Search".BIZET and CARMEN
From the results display, choose the green "Modify Search" button then set the "Material Type" drop-down menu. Click "Search".
BIZET and CARMEN - Limited to: Material Type "DVD/VIDEO/FILM"

Further tips - Uniform Titles
A musical work may be printed with titles that vary depending upon the language of the country of publication, or particular wording used by the publisher. For example:
- The well-tempered clavier
- Das wohltemperierte Klavier.
- 48 preludes and fugues
To bring all these different titles together a distinctive or Uniform Title is created according to fixed rules. Familiarity with these rules enables more successful searching.
- Principles of Music Uniform Titles : a brief introduction by Matthew W. Wise, Music Librarian, New York University.
Other Collections
Start with National Libraries, usually supported by legal deposit requirements, they offer online catalogues to historical collections. Some examples are:
- The Australian National Film and Sound Archive

A collection spanning over 100 years of Australia's film, television, radio and recorded sound heritage.Search the Collection using either Easy Search, Advanced Search or the Browse A-Z options.
Collection Spotlights
"Many digitised works from the National Collection are available for online listening and viewing. Designed for easy use, Spotlights are simple guides that provide everyone with direct access to the Collection via digitised works."
- WorldCat (US and others)
- The British Library (UK)
- Library of Congress (US)
- National Libraries Catalogues Worldwide,
"National libraries are responsible for collecting all publications issued in their respective countries. For this reason, the catalogue of a national library is the best guide to publications issued in the country in question, and anyone wanting information on the publications of that country should make the catalogue of the national library the starting point of their search."