Finding news and newspapers
Newspapers Online | Indexes & Search Tools | Newspaper locators | Newspaper Literature
News and newspapers are an important source of material for music research in a number of areas, especially for the critical reviews of composers, works in performance, music reception, etc. Indexes are the best way of identifying relevant newspaper articles and other useful materials.
Newspapers and news Online
ABC News Online : Index with full text
Current and retrospective stories from Australia and around the world. Includes a search function for historical materials.
The Age, 1991- (FairfaxDigital) : full text
Current and retrospective stories from Australia and around the world. Includes a search function for historical materials.
APAFT : Australian Public Affairs Fulltext, 1995- Index with full text
Based on the index APAIS : Australian Public Affairs Information Service (above), approximately 30 percent is available in fulltext. Includes only major or feature stories in non-leading Australian newspaper titles.
Australian Newspapers Online
Compiled by the National Library of Australia, arranged by state and town, information is given on what is covered by each newspaper, plus online links where available.
Australian Periodical Publications 1840-1845
A digital library of Australian journals that began publication between 1840-1845. The digitised titles have been made available on the Web as multipage PDF files.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (BETA)
"This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present."
Factiva - Australian and Overseas Newspapers - Index with full text.
"A comprehensive newspaper index with full text access to Australian and International newspaper articles. Ostensibly a business database, but includes fulltext of "nearly 9,000 sources from 118 countries in 22 languages, including more than 120 continuously updated newswires". It indexes 365 active sources from Australia including all the major national daily newspapers, state capital daily newspapers and metropolitan newspapers, such as The Australian 1996-), The Age (1991-), The Sydney Morning Herald (1986-), etc. UK national newspapers, including The Financial Times, Daily Telegraph, The Times, The Guardian, Independent, The Express, Daily Mail, The Scotsman, The Star, The Sun. UK regional newspapers including the Aberdeen Press & Journal, Birmingham Post, Manchester Evening News, Northern Echo, Evening Standard, Western Mail, Northcliffe & MGN regional newspapers - and Sunday newspapers - Sunday Times, The Observer, Independent on Sunday, Mail on Sunday, Scotland on Sunday, The News of the World, Sunday Telegraph. Also includes selective television and radio transcripts - BBC, ABC, CBS, NBC, Fox, CNN, NPR, and more. Business and industry magazines, and pictures from Reuters and Knight-Ridder."
Google News Archive Search - Index with Full Text
"News archive search provides an easy way to search and explore historical archives. Users can search for events, people or ideas and see how they have been described over time. In addition to searching for the most relevant articles for their query, users can also see a historical overview of the results by browsing an automatically generated timeline."
Google News Archive Search Help
Historic Australian Newspapers, 1803 to 1954 (Australian Newspapers beta)
"The Australian Newspapers service allows access to historic Australian newspapers digitised as part of the Australian Newspapers Digitisation Program." Covers indexing and fulltext of a number of historical newspapers in the various Australian states.
LexisNexis Academic - Index with Full Text
"Online full-text access to nearly 6,000 titles in news, business and legal information. It includes foreign and U.S. newspapers, more than 300 magazines and journals, including Variety, wire services including the Associated Press, broadcast transcripts from the major television and radio networks including ABC, CBS, CNN, FOX, NBC and NPR, international news, and non-English language news sources available in Spanish, French, German, Italian and Dutch, including both newspapers and magazines, nearly 300 individual college/university papers including the Chronicle of Higher Education, federal and state case law, accounting information, medical news and abstracts, law reviews, state and country profiles." Guide
The New York Times (1851-2005) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Also online New York Times Article Archive articles and indexes from 1851-
Use the Advanced Search option to allow further limits, including author/title and date ranges.
The New York Times Obituary Index (1858-1978) UniM Baill MIC 071.471 NEW
Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
"This database provides selected full text coverage for 245 newspapers, newswires and other sources. This collection includes cover-to-cover full text for The Christian Science Monitor and The Los Angeles Times as well as selected full text from hundreds of regional newspapers. International newspaper coverage includes cover-to-cover full text for The Times (London), The Toronto Star, The Australian, and more. Newswire coverage includes AP Online (Associated Press), Asia Pulse, Canadian Press Wire, World Stream Newswires and more."
17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (Gale)
"The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were published mostly in London, however there are also some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, and a few examples from the American colonies, Europe and India."
19th Century British Library Newspapers (Gale)
"Contains full runs of 48 influential national and regional newspapers representing different political and cultural segments of the 19th century British society."
19th Century US Newspapers (Gale)
"Contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers and advanced searching capabilities. For each issue, the newspaper is captured from cover-to-cover, providing access to every article, advertisement and illustration."
PapersPast (National Library of New Zealand, Wellington) - Index with Full Text
"Papers Past contains more than one million pages of digitised New Zealand newspapers and periodicals. The collection covers the years 1839 to 1932 and includes 52 publications from all regions of New Zealand."
Times Digital Archive (London) 1785-1985 - Index with Full Text.
Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive Inclusive coverage: 1902-1990.
Fully indexed with most of the original contributors now revealed for the first time. Users can access any page via the online version of the published index when executing a title, author/contributor or subject search.
TV News
Indexes Australian television news, current affairs and selected documentaries from the free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. All individual stories from a particular broadcast are indexed with a detailed synopsis. TVNews is updated daily, with stories appearing on an evening news broadcast generally being available for access the next morning. Includes:
- 60 Minutes, September 2007 onwards
- 7.30 Report, August 2007 onwards
- Australian Story, August 2007 onwards
IPL Newspapers Collection - Internet Public Library at: http://www.ipl.org/div/news/
Online newspapers from around the world. Search option, or browse by title, region or country.
WorldPress.org: World Newspapers and Magazines at: http://www.worldpress.org/gateway.htm
Arranged by region and country, or search. Includes World blogs, RSS News Feed lists, Features and Services.
Worldwide Online Newspapers at: http://www.onlinenewspapers.com/
Arranged by region and country. Note that most online sites only publish their feature articles or selected stories.
Indexes to Newspapers
APAIS : Australian Public Affairs Information Service, 1978-
"A bibliographic database that indexes articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities from 1978 onwards."
The Argus Index (1870-1879) online index provided by the National Library.
The Argus Index (1846-1858, 1860, 1910-1919, 1921-Jun. 1949) UniM Baill MIC 079.9451 ARGU
The Age (Melbourne, Victoria) Oct.17, 1854 - UniM Baill MIC/o A265
The Argus Indexes can be used to find articles in The Age by providing dates, etc.
Agesearch newspaper index, 1982-1992 [microform]/ compiled by Agesearch staff.
[Melbourne : State Library of Victoria, 1993]. UniM Baill MIC/f 5052d NOT FOR LOAN
The Australasian (Melbourne, Victoria) (Oct. 1864 - Apr. 6, 1946) UniM Baill MIC/o A938
The Australasian index, 1866-1891 UniM Baill MIC/o 4897
Herald Newspaper Index (Newcastle, N.S.w.) 1866-1944(?)- Newcastle Region Local Studies Library.![]()
Media Scan (Informit) 1991-present.
New York Times Article Archive articles and indexes from 1851-
Use the Advanced Search option to allow further limits, including author/title and date ranges.
The New York Times Obituary Index (1858-1978) UniM Baill MIC 071.471 NEW
News Store 1990-present - Fairfaxarchives
News Store allows you to search Fairfax publications. It's free to search, but sometimes a small charge applies if you want to view the full text of an article.
New Store Search Help
The Sydney Morning Herald 1955-present - Fairfaxarchives.
The Sydney Morning Herald Index (1927-1987)
1927-1961 is in hardcopy at UniM Baill MIC 079.9441 INDE
Oct. 1961-Feb. 1962, Apr. 1963-1987 is on microfiche at UniM Baill MIC/f 4871d
The Washington Post, 1877-present : News Search : Archive Search.
Fulltext available via Lexis Nexis Academic on SuperSearch. The print issues 1877-1954, 1959-1973, 1974-1999 are on microfiche at UniM Baill MIC/o 3963
Newspaper Locators
Getting access to your newspaper titles - online or in print.
- Library Catalogue to search for newspaper titles held in our collections.
- University of Melbourne Newspapers on Microform
Many historical titles, including The Argus, 1846- (Melbourne), The Age, 1854- (Melbourne), The Australasian, 1864- (Melbourne) , The Australian, 1824- , The Ballarat Courier, 1869-, The Bendigo Advertiser, 1853-, The Bendigo Evening News, 1851-,The Illustrated Australian News, 1876-, The Sydney Gazette and New South Wales Advertiser, 1803-, The Sydney Morning Herald, 1842-, etc. - Newspapers in Australian Libraries : a union list / 4th ed. UniM Bail REF 011.35 NEWS - see Information Desk, Baillieu.
Canberra : National Library of Australia, 1984-1985. 2 v.
v.1. Overseas newspapers available in Australian libraries
v.2. Newspapers published in Australia. Newspapers are listed by state, and then by city.
The date on which each paper commenced is given and the libraries where it may be consulted are listed.
There is also an alphabetical title index but no chronological or subject indexes. -
Newspaper Collection - State Library of Victoria.
The State Library's Newspaper Collection is one of the largest in Australia. It has an extensive range of Victorian metropolitan, suburban and regional newspapers, as well as selected interstate and international papers.
Libraries Australia - Australian National Bibliographic database.
The National Library of Australia's service which provides access to material held in Australian libraries. Also lists journal holdings and newspapers Australia wide as well as other published sources including books, conference proceedings, theses, reports etc..
Newspaper Literature - Which titles are useful?
Specialised newspapers titles are not indexed in music or many general databases. If you are looking for titles the following directories many be useful :
Grove Music Online - introductory article Periodicals
From the Grove Music home page, choose "Explore" -> "Research Resources" and then choose Periodicals from the list.
Or, in print : The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians / 2nd. NewYork: Macmillan, 2001.
UniM Music REF 780.3 NEW v.28. pp.399-"Periodicals"
Look especially at Country lists, v.28 pp.340-479 & Title Index, v.28 pp.480-573
For early Australian titles, see also:
- Australian Periodical Publications 1840-1845 - at http://www.nla.gov.au/ferg/
A digital library of Australian journals that began publication between 1840-1845. The digitised titles have been made available on the Web as multipage PDF files. Alternatively, to see a list of titles, choose "Browse" from the L.H. navigation bar.- Stuart, Lurline. UniM Music REF 015.94034 STUA
Nineteenth century Australian periodicals : an annotated bibliography.
Sydney : Hale & Iremonger, 1979.- Barton, G. B. (George Burnett), 1836-1901. UniM Baill SpC/MCL L/A BART
Literature in New South Wales. Sydney : Thomas Richards, Govt. Printer, 1866.
Contents : Periodical literature. I. Newspapers, p. [17]-67 --II. Magazines, p. 68-88.- Walker, R. B. (Robin Berwick), 1925- UniM Baill 079.944 WALK & UniM ERC 079.944 WAL 1
The newspaper press in New South Wales, 1803-1920. Sydney : Sydney University Press, 1976.If you have a question about locating the information you need, contact us for expert assistance.