University of Melbourne Library Louise Hanson-Dyer Music Library

 

 

 

Celebrating 100 years of library services 1908- 2008

Finding music scores - Modern Editions

Browse | Search | Collected Editions| Online Music Scores | Thematic Catalogues | Uniform Titles

The Music Library owns a large collection of music performance material for individual instruments and ensemble use.

Browsing the music shelves

The easiest and best way to find music scores is to just check the shelves as all the scores are arranged in :

  1. ALPHABETICAL order by COMPOSER NAME - Albeniz...Bach...Beethoven...Haydn... Mozart... Schubert...Wagner....
    Albums which include works by a number of composers are filed at the end after the last composer name.
  2. CATEGORIES according to instrument or the form of composition each with a different letter(s) which forms part of the score's call number. Where available, click on the category label to see a complete listing. The categories are as follows:

A - Piano - 2-hands GGM - Mandolin M - Voice and Piano TB - Choral - Female
AB - Piano - Rags/Ragtime GH - Koto MA - Vocal Albums TC - Choral - Male
AC - Piano - Jazz HA - Flute / Piccolo MB - Folk Songs TD - Choral - Mixed
B - Piano - 4-hands HB - Oboe & Cor Anglais MC - Voice & Instr. accomp. TE - Madrigal Albums
C - Two Pianos - 4-hands HC - Clarinet MD - Vocalise / exercises TF - Madrigals - Female
CA - Two Pianos - 6-hands HCA - Saxophone ME - Vocal recitatives TG - Madrigals - Male
CB - Two Pianos - 8-hands HD - Bassoon MF - Vocal AMEB TH - Madrigals - Mixed
D - Harpsichord, etc. HE - Horn MK - Vocal Duets TJ - Sacred - Hymn Books
E - Violin HG - Trombone ML - Popular Songs TK - Sacred - Anthems
F - Viola HH - Tuba N - Organ TL - Sacred - Motets
FA - Viols & Viola da gamba HJ - Percussion NB - Organ tests TM - Parts of Service
G - Cello HK - Harp P - Miniature scores TN - Sacred - Songs
GE - Bass HL - Recorder PM - Miniature albums TP - Carols
GF - Duos, Duets (ex. Guitar) HM - Original Wind PN - Norton critical scores WM - School Songs
GG - Guitar HN - Handbells / Carillon Q - Full scores WR - Operettas
GGA - Guitar Albums HP - Accordion R - Opera Vocal scores WS - Movement / Games
GGB - Duos with Guitar J - Trios S - Choral Vocal scores WT - School Percussion
GGC - Guitars (3 or more) K - Quartets T - Choral Albums X+ - Folio size scores
GGL - Lute L - Quintets, etc. TA - Choral Unison Z+ - Elementary teaching

 

top of page

 


Search the Library Catalogue - by Keyword | Author | Subject | Call Number

 

KEYWORD searching

A quick and easy search, use the KEYWORD search which lets you combine terms such as composer name, words from title, contents, subject and allows limiting by format.

Be aware that the titles of musical works vary greatly across languages and even in the same language. As a guide, use the composer name and a significant word or words in the title, i.e.

Then LIMIT this search to music scores, select PRINTED MUSIC from the "Material Type" drop-down menu. Click "Search"

 

 

Useful tips

top of page

 

AUTHOR searching

 

Searching by AUTHOR allows you to retrieve the works written by a particular composer where the name has been indexed in the author field. These results can then be modified and limited to printed music.

Useful tips

 

top of page

 

SUBJECT searching

 

Searching by Subject is a very precise way of searching and you must search using Library of Congress Subject Headings. This search requires that both the search words used and the word order must comply with the subject heading list. For example, "music history" and not" history music".

In order to familiarize yourself with useful Subject terms, search by keyword to retrieve some relevant examples. Check the Subject field in the useful records retrieved to see what terms are used as subject headings in the catalogue. Return to your Subject search using these terms.

Many subject headings start with the word of a specific genre, e.g.

Other useful Subject Headings include:

Useful tips

 

top of page

 

CALL NUMBER searching

 

This is a limited option, but given the classification and arrangement used in our library, searching by Call number allows you to browse some collections online. Not suitable for call number suffixes commonly used across the library system, e.g. F, P, etc.

For a list of scores, use the alpha label of the collection, followed by a space, e.g.

Useful tips

Use CALL NUMBER + composer name CLASSIFICATION to retrieve more specific results. From the catalogue, take note of the composer classification which is coded with the first letter of the composer's name, followed by 3 or 4 numbers, e.g.

Music for piano - A, by Beethoven - B415 = A B415
Songs (voice and piano) - M, by Schubert - S384 = M S384
Opera (vocal scores) - R, by Puccini - P977 = R P977

 

top of page

 


Understanding Uniform Titles

A musical work may be printed with titles that vary depending upon the language of the country of publication, or particular terms used by the publisher. For example:

To bring all these different titles together a distinctive or Uniform Title is created according to fixed rules. Familiarity with these rules enables more successful searching. The following online guides provide useful summaries and the library catalogue examples and hints apply to our own catalogue:

 

top of page

 


Collected Editions and Historical Sets

The Collected Editions Collection is an extensive musical scores collection arranged in a number of sequences. The Composers' Complete Editions are arranged in alphabetical order by composer name while the Historical Sets and Anthologies are arranged in broad areas: historical period, operas, sacred music, symphonies, piano and organ music, etc. according to Dewey classification.

Identifying individual items within these collections can be a challenge. Use one or a combination of the following strategies:

These published series are important scholarly editions of historically significant music. For an introduction and overview to these collections, refer to:

 

top of page

 


Online and Digital Music Score Collections

A number of early music digitisation projects are increasingly appearing on the internet or available on CD-ROM. The following is a selection:

 

top of page

 


Thematic Catalogues and other Reference materials

Use Thematic Catalogues to identify and verify the works of specific composers. They are called thematic as they often also include incipits - the music of the first few bars from the opening of each work and usually from each subsequent movement or section of the work.

A range of composer thematic catalogues is shelved in the music library in alphabetical order by composer name at UniM Music REF 016.78092.
Examples are:

To find out if there is a thematic catalogue for your composer, search library catalogues including the keywords 'thematic catalogs'. NOTE the spelling of 'catalogs'. If there is a completed Collected Edition for that composer, a thematic catalogue may not be necessary.

The following bibliography may also be useful:

There are also thematic catalogues for particular genres or instrumentation. e.g.

In our Reference Collection, there may be useful books giving lists, bibliographies or discographies of musical works. The composer thematic catalogues (mentioned above) are shelved in the composer sequence - UniM Music REF 016.78092 but there are other options.

a) It is easy to browse the Reference Collection. Use what you know of the classification arrangement to go directly to the specific instrumental or genre sequence.
For example:

b) Use the library catalogue to find these lists. Use the KEYWORD search and include terms such as 'bibliography', 'discography', 'catalogs', etc.
For example:

top of page