Finding music scores - Manuscripts & Early Editions
Indexes, Catalogues and Websites | Collected Editions | Microform Collection | Manuscripts & Early Editions Overview
Much of this early published or unpublished material is often not identified in online catalogues though this is gradually changing. Traditionally, the indexes to these unique collections are available as published catalogues which we hold either in the Collected Editions or Reference Collection. The following is a selection of useful online and print materials. Some of this rare and fragile material is available in the collection as printed facsimiles, often in Collected Editions, or photo-reproductions on microfilm or microfiche.
Indexes, Catalogues and Websites
- Louise Hanson-Dyer Music Library Collection - search the Library Catalogue.
When searching the library catalogue keep in mind the general techniques which have been recommended for finding music scores. To focus on facsimiles and manuscripts, use the library catalogue keyword option, including a combination of the following terms music manuscripts facsimile* and/or (music manuscripts) and not catalogs or a Keyword search with additional limits - location: Music Library and Matieral Type : MS MUSIC, e.g.
- Composer Catalogues, Thematic Catalogues and bibliographies.
Some of these titles include not only a composer's list of works, but also the location of the manuscript if available. Many of these reference books are shelved in the composer sequence UniM Music REF 016.78092.
- Online Collections. A number of early music digitisation projects are increasingly appearing on the internet.
- The British Library - Finding music: printed music
Information to a major collection of music including indexes to the collections. Also an Online Gallery - Music manuscripts showcases some images from the collection.
- RISM (Répertoire International des Sources
Musicales) UniM Music REF 016.78 RISM
Also known as: International Inventory of Musical Sources; Internationales Quellenlexikon der Musik
Describes and lists music manuscripts and early editions held in collections and archives throughout the world. RISM was conceived in the mid-1950s, its goal to update the two major existing finding tools for musical sources:- Robert Eitner's
- Biographisch-Bibliographisches Quellen-Lexikon der Musik und Musikgelehrten (Leipzig, 1898-1904; rpt., rev., Graz, 1959-60) and his
- Bibliographie der Musik-Sammelwerke des XVI. und XVII. Jahrhunderts (Berlin, 1877; rpt., Hildesheim, 1963).
RISM lists historical music manuscripts,the majority originated before 1800. The following online national catalogues are now available as well as a published series (see below).
RISM-OPAC - International Inventory of Musical Sources
"Here you find RISM's vast collection of musical sources and can freely search among 700,000 entries that contain mostly historical music manuscripts (the majority originated bevor 1800).The original sources are available from the libraries, music archives, and private collections as indicated in the RISM database. These institutions can often be approached for reproductions."RISM Database of Musical Manuscripts in US Libraries
"RISM (Répertoire Internationale des Sources Musicales, or International Repertory of Musical Sources), series AII, is a database of music manuscripts. It is international in scope.The site rism.themefinder.org, which is limited to American holdings, is operated by the Center for Computer Assisted Research in the Humanities at Stanford University in cooperation with the US RISM Committee and the US RISM office at Harvard University. The emphasis has been on holdings of music from the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries in the libraries of universities, conservatories, museum, and private collections within the United States. Eventual coverage of nineteenth century materials is intended."
-
Music Manuscripts (1600 to 1800) in British and Irish Libraries. (RISM UK & Ireland)
"This database holds details of 17th- and 18th-century music manuscripts preserved in libraries and archives in the UK and Ireland, plus details of a few manuscripts from the 19th century. It includes manuscripts from national, public and academic libraries, county and city record offices, cathedral and chapel libraries and some private collections. We estimate that about two-thirds of surviving sources in the UK have now been documented; work is still ongoing on collections at the British Library, and we are seeking funding to enable us to continue identifying and cataloguing source material at other locations."The database enables users to browse the complete list of composers, sigla, manuscript numbers and other elements. Or search using advanced search which allows a variety of fields, including people, titles, holding institutions and library sigla, to be searched in combination. Each individual work in a manuscript is described, and a link provided from it to a description of the volume as a whole.
The first few notes of the majority of works have also been encoded and this allows the database to be queried by musical incipit as well as by text-based means. There is a link from each catalogue record to contact information for the relevant institution.
Most of this material is held in the Microform Collection of the Louise Hanson-Dyer Music Library. See Louise Hanson-Dyer Music Library Microform Collection below.
RISM - Switzerland
"Since its foundation in 1956 the Swiss RISM branch has recorded systematically more than 10'000 prints before 1800, collective prints of the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries and other works about music, more than 34'000 manuscripts after 1600 as well as more than 21'000 prints of the 19th and 20th centuries."
RISM, available in the Reference Collection of the Louise Hanson-Dyer Music Library, was originally published in three series:
- Series A lists prints and manuscripts containing works by one composer only.
- Series B is devoted to manuscripts and prints which contain works by more than one author, and to theoretical treatises.
- Series C gives a brief description of all libraries throughout the world which contain music.
Instructions on how to use the volumes are given at the beginning of each volume. Currently RISM Series AII (1600-1800) is available online.
Series A lists prints and manuscripts containing works by one composer only.
- Series AI is published in book form and
is devoted to printed music published up to 1800.
- Series AII " is devoted to manuscripts containing music written between 1600 and 1800. It includes manuscripts containing music by composers who were born after 1580, and who died prior to 1770. Because composers meeting these guidelines could have remained active through the mid-nineteenth century, and because their work has often been transmitted with music of composers born in 1770 or later, however, many manuscripts inventoried include music of later composers as well."
- Series AII -
RISM: International Inventory of Musical Sources after 1600
(restricted - Univesity
of Melbourne only)
Contains- Composer Information
- Musical incipits
- Bibliographic Citations (primarily musical thematic catalogues)
- Library Directory (names and addresses of holding music libraries)
Series B is devoted to manuscripts and prints which contain works by more than one author, and to theoretical treatises.
- Series BI lists anthologies published
between 1501 and 1700.
Index of Composers of Rism B/I (pdf-file: http://philomusica.unipv.it/materiali/rism/IndexB1.pdf , about 850 Kb)
- Series BII lists anthologies published
between 1701 and 1800.
- Series BIII, in several volumes, lists
manuscripts of theoretical works.
- Series BIV, in several volumes, lists
manuscripts which contain works by more than one author.
The volume number in the series is indicated by a superscript
number.
- Series BIV 1 covers the 11th-early 14th centuries,
- Series BIV 2 covers c1320-1400,
- Series BIV 3-4 manuscripts in black mensural notation of the 14th to 16th centuries.
- Series BIV 5 covers Italian manuscripts
from ca.1425to ca.1530.
- Series BVI is only complete to 1400;
only a fairly small percentage of manuscripts after this
date have been included so far.
- Series BVI 1-2 lists printed theoretical
works.
- Series BVI 1-2 lists printed theoretical
works.
- Series BVII lists lute and guitar tablature manuscripts from the 15th to the 18th centuries.
Series C gives a brief description of all libraries throughout the world which contain music.
- Robert Eitner's
Additional online and print listings to complement the available information :
- Medieval Music Database - La Trobe University
"Manuscripts and texts of liturgical chant from the tenth to the fifteenth centuries and the texts of polyphonic songs of the fourteenth century can be searched: some 70,000 works in all. Melodies based on an annual cycle of Dominican chants as currently identified in the description of sources may be searched using intervallic notation. For details of melodic searching see search tips."
- Hofmeister XIX project, based at Royal Holloway, University of London.
"Database of the Hofmeister _Monatsberichte_ for the period 1829-1900. The _Monatsberichte_ (monthly catalogues issued by Friedrich Hofmeister, Leipzig) are the most detailed source of information about nineteenth-century music publications, with particular emphasis on the German-speaking countries. They provide information about when a given composition was published, where, by who, and at what price; using Hofmeister XIX you can locate any item by searching on e.g. composer, title, publisher, place of publication, or date, and extract information such as what publishers were active where and when. Hofmeister XIX records are linked to the facsimiles of the _Monatsberichte_ on the Austrian National Library website." (Nicholas Cook)
-
RELICS : Renaissance Liturgical
Imprints : a census
"This is a database of information about worship books printed before 1601 and includes information on over 13,882 titles in most of the major research libraries of the United States and also libraries in a few selected European cities."
- Brown, Howard Mayer. UniM Music REF 016.7850903 BROW
Instrumental music printed before 1600 : a bibliography.
Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1965.
This is an invaluble and well-indexed bibliography of all instrumental music printed before 1600.
- Daniel, Ralph T., and Peter Le Huray, comps. UniM Music
CE 782.22 Earl Supp v. 1
The Sources of English Church Music 1549-1660.
London: Stainer and Bell, 1972. 2 vols. (Early English Church Music, Supplementary Volume 1.)
An explanation of how to use the volumes and a list of sigla are given on pages vi-xix of Part 1.
- Hamm, Charles, and Herbert Kellman, eds. UniM Music CE
780.9031
Census-Catalogue of Manuscript Sources of Polyphonic Music 1400-1550.
Neuhausen-Stuttgart: American Institute of Musicology, 1979-1988. 5 volumes. (Renaissance Manuscript Studies 1.)
This important work is a catalogue of all manuscripts containing polyphonic music written between 1400 and 1550. It thus supplements RISM. The composer index is found in volume 5, pp. 111-256. The manuscript sigla, for example MunBS 10, are listed alphabetically in volumes 1-4. The first part of the siglum (the first letter and the following lower case letters) tells you the name of the city in which the manuscript is housed: here 'Mun' = Munich. The next letters tell you the name of the library: 'BS' = Bayerische Staatsbibliothek. The rest of the siglum gives you an abbreviated call number of the manuscript in that library: '10' = Music Manuscript 10.
- Hofman, May, and John Morehen, comps. UniM Music CE 782.22
Earl Supp. v. 2
Latin Music in British Sources c1485-c1610.
London: Stainer and Bell, 1987.
( Early English Church Music, Supplementary Volume 2.)
An explanation of how to use the volume is given on pages x-xi.
Collected Editions and Historical Sets
Some Collected Editions series publish facsimile editions of manuscript scores or early editions. The collections are arranged in a number of sequences. The Composers' Complete Editions are arranged in alphabetical order by composer name while the Historical Sets and Anthologies are arranged in broad areas: historical period, operas, sacred music, symphonies, piano and organ music, etc. according to Dewey classification.
Identifying individual items within these collections can be a challenge. Use one or a combination of the following strategies:
- Use the Library Catalogue. Try a keyword search or a subject search.
- Oxford
Music Online (restricted - University
of Melbourne only)
The list of works which follow the composer entry in the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians often refers to the "Collected Edition" of the works of that composer.
- Index to Printed Music : Collections & Series
(restricted - University of Melbourne only)
An online index for finding music scores printed in standard scholarly editions, historical collections and series. Each individual work in a collection is indexed, allowing retrieval by composer, title, collection as well as by specific performing forces. A guide is available.
- Index
to Renaissance Vocal Music in Collections - Compiled by
Carol Ohlers, Scott Library, York University, Toronto, Ontario.
This index is limited to sacred and secular vocal music. Volumes in indexed collections that contain only instrumental music have been excluded as well as instrumental selections in indexed volumes
- Heyer, Anna Harriet, 1909- (comp.) UniM Music 016.78
HEYE v.1-2
Historical sets, collected editions, and monuments of music : a guide to their contents / 3rd ed. Chicago : American Library Association, 1980.
A useful but an out-of-date index.
- Hill, George R. (George Robert), 1943- UniM Music REF
016.78 HILL
Collected editions, historical series & sets & monuments of music: a bibliography / George R. Hill, Norris L. Stephens. Berkeley, Calif. : Fallen Leaf Press, c1997. (Fallen Leaf reference books in music; 14)
Another incomplete index but a useful supplement to Heyer.
These published series are important scholarly editions of historically significant music. For an introduction and overview to these collections, refer to:
- For an overview, consult the introductory article Editions
from Oxford
Music Online (restricted - University
of Melbourne only)
In the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, a summary of the modern history of collected editions followed by a list of editions of music, subdivided into three parts:
(1) Editions of the complete works of a single composer
(2) Multi-volume editions devoted to unified musical repertory
(3) Anthologies of selections and excerpts from a variety of musical sources.Also available in print: UniM Music REF 780.3 NEW
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians / 2nd. NewYork: Macmillan, 2001.1. For an overview, consult the introductory article "Editions, Historical " in v.7 pp.895-
2. "...a comprehensive guide to collections of past musical repertory" in v.28, pp.169-
Includes: 1. Single-composer complete editions ; 2. Other collected editions ; 3. Anthologies.
Louise Hanson-Dyer Music Library Microform Collection
Film images of fragile and unique material are contained in this collection, including music manuscripts and early printed editons.
- Use the Library Catalogue to identify the scope of this collection. Search the catalogue by author if you are seeking a work written by a particular composer. Search by keywords to identify microforms on a particular topic. Type in keywords that identify the institution, the work/s or collection, etc. Combine words and phrases with connecting words AND, OR, NOT: eg microform AND manuscripts AND music
Contents of the following Primary Source Microfilm Music Manuscript Collections held in the Music Library. To see a list of the complete works in each title, click View Guides/Indexes.
- Italian Music Mss in the British Library, London c.1640-c.1800 - UniM Music Mic/o 1052 View Guides/Indexes
- Music Collection of Christ Church, Oxford - UniM Music Mic/o 525-570 View Guides/Indexes
- Music Collection of St. Michael's College, Tenbury - UniM Music Mic/o 1017 View Guides/Indexes
- Music Collection of the Bodleian Library, Oxford - UniM Music Mic/o 1019 View Guides/Indexes
- Music Mss Collection of the British Library, London - UniM Music Mic/o 1021 View Guides/Indexes
- Music Collection of the Royal Academy of Music, London c.1650-c.1930 - UniM Music Mic/o 1064 View Guides/Indexes
- Music Collection of the Royal College of Music, London - UniM Music Mic/o 1022 View Guides/Indexes
- Music Collections of the Cambridge Libraries - UniM Music Mic/o 1051 View Guides/Indexes
- Music Mss in Chapel and Cathedral Libraries - UniM Music Mic/o 1066 View Guides/Indexes
- Gerald Coke Handel Collection - UniM Music Mic/o 1054 View Guides/Indexes
- Twentieth Century Composers - not held View Guides/Indexes
- British printed music in the British Library, 1750-1800 - Mic/o 1118.
Index: UniM Music REF 016.78 BRIT - Women Composers Collection, University of Michigan - Mic/o 1117 View Guide/Index
Index: UniM Music REF 016.78082 WOME
- History
of Music, 1500-1800 : Music in Harvard Libraries from the Renaissance
through the Early Classical Period.
Woodbridge, Conn. : Research Publications, 1985. 107 microfilm reels. UniM Music MIC/o 1065.
From the Houghton Library, the Eda Kuhn Loeb Music Library and the Harry Elkins Widener Memorial Library.
"Nearly 1,000 items of printed music along with more than 400 works of music theory representing a spectrum of music, writers, composers and national sources. English music from the Restoration and Jacobean periods is included, along with Italian and French dance music and European secular music of the 16th and 17th centuries, and mid-18th century South-German part-books. American music is represented by an array of Thomas walter editions. Among the composers represented are Thomas Arne, Samuel Arnold, C.P.E. and J.C. Bach, Arcangelo Corelli, Nicolas Dalayrac, Handel, Haydn, Philippe de Monte, Mozart, Palestrina, Pepusch, Philidor, Henry Purcell, Rameau and Vivaldi."
Refer to the following printed guide : - Wood, David A. UniM Music REF 016.780262 HIST
Music in Harvard libraries, a catalogue of early printed music and books on music in the Houghton Library and the Eda Kuhn Loeb Music Library. Woodbridge, CT : Research Publications, 1985.
To be used in conjunction with the microfilm collection: History of music. Contains an introduction, catalogue, bibliography and index, along with a reel summary insert with item numbers for convenient microfilm access.
Manuscripts & Early Editions Overview
Manuscripts and early printed editions (published before 1801)
are primary sources invaluable to the music scholar and student.
Identifying and locating these materials can be a complex process,
however the following publications will help you. For an overview,
consult the following introductory articles.
- Sources,
Manuscript, from Oxford
Music Online (restricted - Univesity
of Melbourne only)
From the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, a review of the character and repertory of the main classes of manuscript in use before 1600, arranged by subject matter and also chronologically. The text is interspersed with descriptions of the major individual sources. After a general introduction, the text is divided by period, region and genre into eight parts: Western plainchant, Secular monophony, Organum and discant, Early motet, English polyphony, 1270-1400, French polyphony, 1300-1420, Italian polyphony, c1325-c1420, Renaissance polyphony. All sections include bibliographies.
In print: The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians / 2nd ed. "Sources, MS" v.23, pp.791-930.
I. Introduction, including an historical survey to 1600 and since, p.792
II. Western plainchant, p.817
III. Secular monophony, p.846
IV. Organum and discant, p.868
V. Early motet, p.874
VI. English polyphony 1270-1400, p.877
VII. French polyphony 1300-1420, p.882
VIII. Italian polyphony c1325-c1430, p.888
IX. Renaissance polyphony, p.892.
- Sources
of Instrumental Ensemble Music to 1630, from Oxford
Music Online (restricted - Univesity
of Melbourne only)
From the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, a review of the principal sources up to 1630 of music for two or more instruments (excluding two or more keyboards, lutes and other chordal instruments) to play together without the voice. The text is interspersed with descriptions of the major individual sources. After a general introduction, the list is organised geographically in six parts: Italy, France, Germany, Netherlands, Spain and Portugal, British Isles.
In print : The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians / 2nd. ed. "Sources of instrumental ensemble music to 1630", v.24, p.1-19
- Sources
of Keyboard Music to 1660, from Oxford
Music Online (restricted - Univesity
of Melbourne only)
From the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, a review of sources of keyboard music up to about 1660. The text is interspersed with descriptions of the major individual sources. After a general introduction, the article is organised geographically into five parts: Italy, France, Germany, Eastern Europe and Scandinavia, The Netherlands, Spain and Portugal.
In print : The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians / 2nd. ed. "Sources of keyboard music to 1660", v.24, p.19-39.
- Sources
of Lute Music, from Oxford
Music Online (restricted - Univesity
of Melbourne only)
From the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, a review of the manuscript and printed sources of music for the lute. The text is interspersed with descriptions of the major individual sources. After a general introduction, the article is organised geographically in eight parts: Italian sources to c1680, Central European sources to c1650, French sources, 1529-99, Vihuela sources, 1536-76, The Low Countries, c1545-1626, English lute music, French sources, 1600-99, Central European sources after c1650.
In print : The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians / 2nd ed. "Sources of lute music", v.24, p.39-63