EndNote user guides
Introductory Guides
- EndNote: an introduction [html] [pdf]
This guide is designed as a basic introduction to EndNote for Windows. The guide covers: the basic features of EndNote; creating an EndNote Library; using Endnote to cite references in a Word document; formatting a bibliography in your preferred citation style; getting EndNote software and getting Endnote help at the University of Melbourne.
- Beginning EndNote X for Mac [html] [pdf]
This guide in an introduction to using Endnote X for Mac OSX. It covers: creating an EndNote Library; adding references; using EndNote to insert citations and construct a bibliography in MS Word documents.
- EndNote & Word: An introduction [pdf]
This guide covers EndNote 9, but is useful for EndNote X and X1 users.
- EndNote 7: Useful information [pdf]
- EndNote: Is It For You? [html] [pdf]
Basic information and links to key resources to assist you to use EndNote effectively
See also: EndNote Is It For You? Presentation
EndNote: Getting References from Databases & e-Journal Collections
- Downloading references from library databases and ejournals [html]
This guide provides step-by-step instructions for downloading records from databases and e-journal collections into an EndNote Library. Instructions are listed for key databases and for groups of databases by vendor name.
- EndNote filters for Mac: Visual & Performing Arts and Music [Word] Additional information for Faculty of VCA and Faculty of Music staff and students on using and downloading Endnote filters relevant to the Faculties of VCA and Music disciplines and databases.
EndNote Tips
- Using Endnote for Collaboration: a new EndNote guide from the University of Queensland which addresses the following three scenarios: Researchers are at the same institution and using a single EndNote library, located on their local network; Researchers are using a single EndNote library, which is not on a network; and Researchers are each using their own, separate EndNote library. * new guide
- EndNote X & X1 tip sheets from Thomson Reuters
- Emailing an EndNote library [html] [pdf] * new guide
- Linking to articles & websites (using SourceIt links & URLs) [html] [pdf]
- Using the 'Link to PDF' function [html] [pdf]
- Library window - changing display fields [html] [pdf]
- Saving searches in EndNote [html] [pdf] * new guide
- EndNote: sorting bibliography by source (primary and secondary sources) [html] [pdf]
- Converting EndNote 8/9 files to EndNote 7 (for PC) [html] [pdf]
- Instant formatting [html] [pdf]
EndNote Guides for Chinese Studies Resources
- EndNote X/9 for Chinese studies researchers [html]
- EndNote X/9: Importing from CAJ Web using a filter [html] [pdf]
- EndNote X/9: Importing from Quan guo bao kan suo yin [html] [pdf]
- EndNote X/9: Importing CJK library records from INNOPAC [html] [pdf]
- EndNote X/9: Importing from BAS using a filter [html] [pdf]
Other Useful Guides
MS Word
- Master Documents in Word ( Office 2000 | Office XP | Office 2003 ) (includes section on formatting bibliographies with EndNote.)
- Styles for paragraphs and text - Control the look of text and paragraphs : Office 2003
- Skills for complex documents using Word : Office 2003
- Using Word to write an Honours thesis : Office 2003
- Using "Track Changes" in Word : Office 2003
- See also: Word 2003 Viewlets (short tutorials) on styles, templates, table of contents, page numbers, outline numbering
top of page